Hula Bowl
Hall of Fame

From the Gridiron to the Red Carpet

"A champion is simply someone who did not give up when they wanted to." -Tom Landry

2020 HALL OF FAME         2021 HALL OF FAME


Rich Miano

Rich Miano walked onto the Hawaii Rainbow Warriors in 1981 as a defensive back, and became an all-Western Athletic Conference player for 1983 and 1984 seasons. He was selected in the sixth round of the 1985 NFL Draft by the New York Jets, where he played five seasons. Miano went to the Philadelphia Eagles where he played four seasons and for his final season in the NFL, he played with the Atlanta Falcons. 

He then returned to become an associate coach with the Hawaii Rainbow Warriors and later became a high school head coach where he lead the Henry J. Kaiser High School team to a Hawaii State Championship in 2013.


Anthony Miller

Anthony Miller initially began his athletic career with a track & field scholarship from San Diego State, but transferred the next year to Pasadena City College where he played football. In 1985, his 1,728 all-purpose yards led California junior college players, and he was named to the junior college All-American team. He then transferred to Tennessee, where he caught 96 passes for 1,530 yards and 10 touchdowns, along with being a kick returner.

Miller was selected by the San Diego Chargers in the first round (15th overall) of the 1988 NFL Draft, and he also played with the Denver Broncos and the Dallas Cowboys. Through his career, he had 595 receptions for 9,148 yards (58th all-time) and 63 touchdowns (68th all-time). 

He played in the 1988 Hula Bowl.


Junior Ah You

Junior Ah You was a three-time All-Western Athletic Conference selection for Arizona State and a second team All-American. He gained national attention after being named the co-outstanding player in the Sun Devils' 1970 Peach Bowl victory over North Carolina; he followed it up by being named the outstanding defensive player in Arizona State's 1971 victory over Florida State in the inaugural Fiesta Bowl.

Ah You was drafted in the 17th round (425th overall pick) of the 1972 NFL Draft by the NFL New England Patriots but choose to play in the CFL instead. He joined the Montreal Alouettes and went on to become a 2 time CFL All-Star and the 1974 Grey Cup MVP. Ah You's jersey #77 is one of ten retired by the Alouettes, he was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1997, and he was voted to the Honor Roll of the CFL's Top 50 players.

Junior Ah You was the star and MVP of the 1972 Hula Bowl, and is a member of the Hula Bowl's inaugural Hall of Fame class. 


Eric Dickerson

He was the leader of Southern Methodist University’s fearsome Pony Express, and became the Southwest Conference’s all-time rushing yards leader and total scorer. He was a first-team All-American in 1982, a second-team All-American in 1981, and finished third in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1982, behind Herschel Walker and John Elway.

Eric then went to the NFL where he played for eleven seasons on the Los Angeles Rams, Indianapolis Colts, Los Angeles Raiders, and the Atlanta Falcons. Throughout his career, he rushed for over 13,000 career yards, became the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year (1983), a 6 time Pro-Bowler, 4× NFL rushing yards leader (1983, 1984, 1986, 1988), 3× NFC Offensive Player of the Year (1983, 1984, 1986), and the 1986 NFL Offensive Player of the Year. He set numerous records including: the single season rushing yard record of 2015 yards, the rookie rushing record of 1,808 rushing yards, and the single game playoff game rushing record of 248 yards. Eric Dickerson was introduced to the NFL Hall of Fame in 1999 and named to the NFL's all-time 100 Anniversary Team.

He was the star and the MVP of the 37th Hula Bowl, and is the first inductee to the Hula Bowl Hall of Fame.