Hula Bowl News

Newly crowned national champion Breiden Fehoko of LSU to play in Hula Bowl

For the first time since 2008, the Hula Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium and a Farrington alum who has had a pretty good week will be playing in the game.

LSU’s Breiden Fehoko, who won a national championship with the Tigers on Monday in a 42-25 win over Clemson, has accepted an invite to the game the bowl announced tonight on social media.

The 6-foot-2, 291-pound defensive tackle played two seasons at LSU after transferring from Texas Tech. As a senior, he played in 14 games and made four starts with 17 tackles, six tackles for loss and was in on a sack.

Fehoko, a 2015 Farrington alumnus who was a two-time, All-State first-team selection, had 16 tackles, three tackles for loss and 1 1/2 sacks in eight games as a junior.

Hawaii fullback Dayton Furuta (Mililani), linebacker/defensive end Kaimana Padello (Mililani), linebacker Solomon Matautia (Campbell) and receiver Jason-Matthew Sharsh (Moanalua) and Waseda (Japan) University receiver Tsubasa Brennan (Pac-Five) have also been invited to the game.

Former NFL coaches Mike Smith and Rex Ryan will serve as coaches in the college football all-star game for seniors that will take place Saturday, Jan. 25. Kickoff is 5:30 p.m.



LSU defensive lineman Breiden Fehoko did an interview during media day for the NCAA College Football Playoff national championship game on Saturday. Photo courtesy Associated Press. | AP